top of page

Trying new things part one.

Updated: Jul 10, 2019

My diet has been far from perfect, and I always fall short when it comes to crazy diets. I have a difficult time following or seeing results because I'm impatient. However, recently anything I eat seems to make me feel gross or just ill for the most part. I then visited my doctor to see if she could help me with my problem. LMAO okay, before I continue; I would like to point out that my diet is not very healthy, so do not think I am some health freak, I just try my best. Let's be honest, if you're in college it is very hard to eat healthy all the time. On top of that, as I've gotten older I've craved saltier things and an occasional cookie. So overall my diet growing up has been omnivore. Ive tried being vegetarian/ vegan but due to other medical stuff, I have to eat the occasional chicken in order to be healthy. (I'm always open to suggestions on how to make my diet better or having less meat).

 

The doctors visit went well I guess, but I then explained to my doctor all my symptoms and moods which she suggested the low FODMAP diet. If you've never heard of it, you're not alone! I had zero clue what it was.

This is an acronym for FODMAP, as well as a link to the purpose of the diet, and some Ideas of how to use it.









Basically this diet consists of no wheat, high sugar intake, milk or cottage cheese, lentils, high fiber, etc. I've never been gluten free before, and I honestly love wheat toast and products. I also come from a hispanic background, so not being able to have spicy foods or beans. So far, This diet has been difficult to transition but I feel so much better. Of course I've had a couple of slip ups, and every time I have gluten my stomach feels off. So this probably means that I'm gluten-free, which I am in the denial stage... but everything is fine. I'm on this diet for another week to determine if this will be something I want to continue.

I should mention the pros and cons of this so far,

PROS:

  • I feel better overall

  • losing weight

  • un bloated

  • chillin

CONS:

  • hard to transition

  • hard for me to find new things I like

  • I need to find better options

Although this is my first blog, I'm learning and trying to figure out what I like, but everything's fine right?














45 views0 comments
bottom of page